art imitates life imitates art

Really interesting and thought-provoking new photo challenge theme this week: life imitates art. which made me think about the impressionists, and the way they tried to catch light and water in their paintings, and truly imitate life – and were mocked for it. And thinking of the impressionists made me think of Monet, and the first time I saw one of his  waterlily paintings in real – and was floored by the size and energy in it.

waterlilies

 

Whenever I see a pond with waterlilies in sunlight now, they make me think of Monet’s waterlilies, and let me pause and look… real life reflecting on art reflecting on real life.

2 thoughts on “art imitates life imitates art

Leave a Reply

