celeb/rate (somewhere, day 73)

today’s image is inspired by ModPo (the online course on Modern Poetry that started this week, more here: ModPo): reading Walt Whitman & listening to a roundtable discussion on his Song of Self, this poem that runs through so many thoughts and layers and speaks to the complexity and simplicity of this world and our odyssee of finding meaning and a sense of self  in it. or rather: of finding a sense in the world that connects our self to something larger, that might even take us to those moments of transcendence:

“..I bequeath myself to the dirt to grow from the grass I love,
If you want me again look for me under your boot-soles.

Failing to fetch me at first keep encouraged,
Missing me one place search another,
I stop somewhere waiting for you.”

*

(this entry is part of the 100 days of summer 2012:  a collective project of shared daily creativity.)

3 thoughts on “celeb/rate (somewhere, day 73)

Leave a Reply

